Anchorage Stymied by Springfield on Saturday

Mar 25, 2023

Anchorage, Alaska |3/25/23 | Isaac Smoldon

The Anchorage Wolverines fell by a score of 4-2 on Saturday night, dropping the second contest of a three-game weekend to the Springfield Jr. Blues. The Wolverines will play the Jr. Blues for the final time this season in the last game of the weekend, tomorrow afternoon. Shane Soderwall made 26 saves for his team in the loss.

Springfield came out eager to get revenge for Friday’s outcome, and scored just under two minutes into the opening frame, beating Soderwall over his right leg. Anchorage would respond late into the period, with Kade Shea tapping in his own rebound off Tyler Hennen’s first junior point.

Despite several high-quality scoring chances in the 2nd, Jr. Blues’ netminder Carson Dorfman held the Wolverines scoreless, while Springfield tallied two of their own goals to go up 3-1 with one period remaining. The Jr. Blues then extended the lead to three seven minutes into the 3rd. Anchorage pulled Soderwall early, battling with an empty net from the 15 minute mark of the frame onwards. Trent Powell would score with under 30 seconds remaining in regulation, but it would be too little too late for the home team, as they lost by a final score of 4-2.

The final game of the weekend between the Wolverines and Springfield takes place tomorrow and begins at 4 p.m. AKDT. All Anchorage fans under 18 will be admitted for free if they wear Wolverines gear, and any fan under the age of 12 may submit Wolverine’s artwork to be enter to win a $100 gift card to the Wolverines Den. Tickets for the game are available now at, following the contest there will be a skate with the team for those in attendance. For those not able to be at the Ben, the live broadcast can be watched on HockeyTV.

For any questions or media availability, please contact Isaac Smoldon at

The Anchorage Wolverines are a tier-II USA Hockey Jr. Hockey team competing in the North American Hockey League. The Wolverines are owned by Marissa Flannery and Aaron Schutt, Jena and Jay Frawner, and Kari and John Ellsworth, Jr.